Beautiful Names

Every time I want to blog, I don’t know how to start. Like, I want to say a lot of things but I just can’t find the words. I don’t have a talent in writing, no creativity, – nothing at all! I was not born to be a writer but in spite of that, I will continue writing here, so hold on and be patient folks!

Let me share to you what was keeping me busy these couple of days while my husband is away for Umrah. It’s so terrible to be away from your husband even for a short period of time. Sabr, Patience you’re a great help indeed.

So last month, I started reading again the 99 Names of Allah. To make the studying and memorizing easy, I am trying to learn 2-3 Names of Allah each day. My goal is to memorize them all with proper understanding before the holy month of Ramadan comes,In Shaa Allah. 

img_8132

As we all know, Tawheed or Islamic Monotheism has three categories which includes:

  •  Tawheed Ar-Ruboobiyah or Tawheed of Lordship. This is to single out Allah the Mighty and Sublime with creation, ownership and control. To single out Allah with creation is for one to believe that there is no creator except Allah.
  • Tawheed Al-Uloohiyyah or Tawheed of Worship. It is also called Tawheed Al-‘Ibaadah (singling out Allah with worship). It is to single out Allah the Mighty and Sublime with worship. Therefore, the One deserving of worship is Allah the Exalted.
  • Tawheed Al Asmaa’ was-sifaat or Tawheed of Allah’s Names and Attributes. This is to single out Allah the Mighty and Sublime with His names and Attributes which entails two things: Affirmation and Rejection.

(Source:   Commentary on Kitab At-Tawheed Volume 1 by Shaikh Muhammad bin Salih Al-‘Uthaimeen)

As for the Holy Qur’an, it says in Surah Al-A’raf,  Ayat 180

وَلِلَّهِ الْأَسْمَاءُ الْحُسْنَىٰ فَادْعُوهُ بِهَا ۖ وَذَرُوا الَّذِينَ يُلْحِدُونَ فِي أَسْمَائِهِ ۚ سَيُجْزَوْنَ مَا كَانُوا يَعْمَلُونَ

And to Allah belong the best names, so invoke Him by them. And leave [the company of] those who practice deviation concerning His names. They will be recompensed for what they have been doing.                            (Sahih International)

I am not an expert in Islam but I personally believe that knowing and understanding the Beautiful Names of Allah increases my Iman, my faith. With the proper understanding of His beautiful Names, we are learning the greatness of Allah. Allahu Akbar! Arabic is not my native language so it’s more difficult to learn but the greatest reward awaits In Shaa Allah. May Allah increase us in knowledge and facilitate for us ease. Ya Rabb!

I read one hadeeth and I want to share it with you:

حَدَّثَنَا أَبُو الْيَمَانِ، أَخْبَرَنَا شُعَيْبٌ، حَدَّثَنَا أَبُو الزِّنَادِ، عَنِ الأَعْرَجِ، عَنْ أَبِي هُرَيْرَةَ، أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم قَالَ ‏ “‏ إِنَّ لِلَّهِ تِسْعَةً وَتِسْعِينَ اسْمًا مِائَةً إِلاَّ وَاحِدًا، مَنْ أَحْصَاهَا دَخَلَ الْجَنَّةَ ‏”‏‏.‏ ‏{‏أَحْصَيْنَاهُ‏}‏ حَفِظْنَاهُ‏.‏

Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) said, “Allah has ninety-nine Names, one-hundred less one; and he who memorized them all by heart will enter Paradise.” To count something means to know it by heart.

Reference:

Sahih Al-Bukhari 7392

 

May Allah forgive our sins and grant us Jannah.  Ya Rabb!
I always try to find different authentic sources to gain more knowledge by asking somebody who has more knowledge than me. I opt to go to one of the well-known  Islamic bookshop here in Saudi Arabia, Darussalam. I think they have a lot of branches all over the world. This is not a paid advertisement by the way. HAHA. Nowadays, it’s difficult to trust everything that we are reading especially from the internet. May Allah guide us always to the straight path and protect us from the works of Shaytan. Ya Rabb!

Leave a Reply

