My Ramadan-Eid Update

AsSalam Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa barakatuh!

Yey! I finally got time to lay my hands on my laptop and write something here in my blog after being M-I-A for quite sometime. Well, I intended not to write anything during Ramadan as I mentioned in my previous post and I got so busy fixing things after the Eid. Unfortunately, couple of days ago, I was having high grade fever due to viral illness, I think. I’m self-diagnosing here. HAHA. Well, because I didn’t have any significant clinical symptoms to worry of except that I think my body didn’t tolerate the 45-50 degrees Celcius temperature nowadays here in Saudi. It is way too hot to go outside during daytime! And when we opt to go out at night, there is humidity that makes us sweaty and sticky! Yikes! But don’t worry, I am feeling better now,  Alhamdulillah.

By the way, Eid Mubarak everyone!

I hope that everybody achieved their Ramadan goals and enjoyed Eid Al-Fitr celebrations!

May Allah accept our good deeds, forgive our transgressions and answer our prayers. Amin Ya Rabb!

May Allah make us reach and experience more Ramadan ahead. Amin Ya Rabb!

Late last year, my husband and I moved to a new apartment and we chose to live near a masjid because we love hearing the Adhan and the prayers. The masjid is a 3-minute walk from our building. So during the Ramadan this year, it was so easy for us to go for Taraweeh and Tahajjud. Alhamdulillah.

There is a hadith regarding women’s praying at home than going in the masjid that goes:

It was narrated from ‘Abd-Allaah ibn Mas’ood that the Prophet (Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “A woman’s prayer in her room is better than her prayer in her courtyard, and her prayer in her cabinet is better than her prayer in her room.” (Narrated by Abu Dawood, 570; al-Tirmidhi, 1173. This hadeeth was classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Targheeb wa’l-Tarheeb, 1/136). 

But why did I go to the masjid for Taraweeh and Tahajjud? Definitely not to show off people that I am praying, instead because I felt it is more beneficial for me. I searched and read different fatwas about it and here are some I came across with.

There is nothing wrong with a woman praying Taraweeh or other prayers in the mosque, with the congregation of men, especially if that will be more effective in encouraging her to offer a lengthy prayer, and will help her to do that regularly, even if offering prayers – both obligatory and supererogatory – at home is better for her – in principle – than her offering prayers in the mosque. 

Shaykh Ibn Baaz (may Allah have mercy on him) was asked: 

What is the Islamic ruling on a woman praying Taraweeh in the mosque? 

He replied: The basic principle with regard to a woman’s prayer is that her home is preferable and better for her, but if she thinks that there is an interest to be served by praying in the mosque, so long as she covers herself properly, because that is more motivating for her, or because she can benefit from listening to lessons, then there is nothing wrong with that, praise be to Allah. It is also good because of what it involves of great benefits and encouraging people to do righteous deeds.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said: 

It is better for her to pray Taraweeh at home, but if praying in the mosque is more motivating for her and helps her to focus better, and if she prays at home she fears that she may neglect her prayer, then in this case the mosque may be better. 

I had a permission from my husband as well to pray in the masjid. There was no issue regarding the mixing of men and women because the masjid has totally separate areas  and entrances for both. In fact, I was so happy during those times because I found a new friend, an old woman, who admires the reverts a lot and taught me of some things regarding prayer which I didn’t know from before. And Allah سبحانه و تعالى knows best.

So during the last few days of Ramadan, we went to Makkah for Umrah and visited Masjid An-Nabawi in Madinah. Alhamdulillah, Allah facilitated our travel. As expected, it was so crowded but Alhamdulillah it is indeed a great opportunity to be able to come back there. Our travel went smoothly except for the journey in the plane from Jeddah to Madinah where we experienced air turbulence, (just like the last time we travelled that we ended up in the airport’s clinic, Fasting + Air Turbulence + Motion Sickness). I was holding the vomit bag in my hand the whole time! It reminded me of the roller coaster ride I had when I was a kid which ended my love for rollercoasters. I hope this will not end my love for airplanes HAHA.

We stayed for 3 days in Makkah. We were there when the news about the foiled terrorist attack happened. I didn’t hear any blast because the hotel we stayed is away from the area but I noticed a lot of police cars and fire fighters’ siren more than the usual. It got me scared a little bit but my faith to my Creator Allah is greater. I know that He will not let any harm happen especially in the Al Masjid Al Haram.

img_8878

May Allah facilitate for every Muslim to come here and do Umrah and Hajj. Amin Ya Rabb!

We headed to Madinah one day before the Eid and stayed there for 4 days. Ahhh. the peace and tranquility of the city of Madinah, at last away from the noisy and busy life.  Hearing the Adhan and prayers from there give me a feeling of calmness. How I wish I can live there. The beauty of the Masjid An-Nabawi is really making me feel so delighted, overwhelming happiness it is.

img_8978

During the Eid, the people are already praying in the street and the lobby of the hotel where we stayed. The masjid was packed with worshippers. Children are all dressed up and they all looked adorable! As a revert, I only have my husband as my Muslim family so I was so happy when we celebrated it in Madinah. We celebrated with the Muslim Umma. Alhamdulillah!

Forgive me for my flight of ideas and so unorganized post. I really don’t have enough time to sit because I’m still busy taking care of the things left at home when we went for vacation and I am still trying to have enough rest and recuperate from my illness for I will be traveling again next week, somewhere in the far east and my much loved place  In Shaa Allah. 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Ramadan-Eid Update

  1. Subhan Allah what an amazing experience! I hope that you enjoyed Ramadan and Eid, I can’t believe we’re approaching Eid al-Adha already! I don’t remember much of Ramadan except that it flew in and I was crazy busy!

    May allah accept your efforts. Ameen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

