Worth-it Travel with Fam

AsSalam Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu!

So last month, I traveled to the East with my parents for a 3-week vacation. It was a wonderful experience although we were trapped in a typhoon during the tour in the last week. Basically I’m blogging these to share ideas in case you want to go for a vacation and explore new places.

First week: Philippines

According to our dear friend Wikipedia, “The Philippines is a sovereign island country in Southeast Asia situated in the western Pacific Ocean. It consists of about 7,641 islands that are categorized broadly under three main geographical divisions from north to south: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.” (See more here in Wikipedia)

I stayed in Manila, which is the capital city of the country. Phlippines by the way is a non-Islamic country. Christianity or Roman Catholic is the most practiced religion there. People practicing Islam are less than 10% and they are living mainly in the southern part of the country. This explains why it was so rare to see hijabis around me. Nevertheless, it didn’t make me feel awkward at all. It made me feel protected even. My heart is jumping for joy whenever I see people wearing hijabs around me. My family, who are not Muslims by the way, are so supportive of me wearing my hijab and regarding food preferences Alhamdulillah.

Searching for halal foods was a challenge but there are halal restaurants nearby and some supermarkets in the mall are selling halal chicken or beef. I preferred to eat at home because the dishes cooked by my mother is the best. I spent almost everyday eating seafoods.

There are no prayer rooms in the mall so I used the breastfeeding stations/rooms for praying. It’s a perfect spot because they are making sure each cubicles are clean, the space is big enough for me to do my prayers and most of the time it’s quiet because all babies are feeding. Haha. I just had to talk nicely to the person in charge to allow me. I tried using fitting rooms before but some are a little bit small and doesn’t give me enough space to do Rukoo.

Second week: Singapore

It’s not my first time to go to Singapore, I think 3rd or 4th, and I will keep on coming back there if I have the chance. In Shaa Allah. Singapore is a very small country but it has so many nice places to visit. On top of that, I always love to be in Singapore because there are many Muslims, hijabis everywhere! Masjids and halal restaurants are easy to find. The malls have food section that offers halal foods and best thing is they are separating the utensils used for halal and non-halal foods. Alhamdulillah!

Cutlery is STRICTLY for HALAL food consumption ONLY.  I am so happy!

This photo was taken in  Changi Airport. This airport always amazes me because it is so beautiful, clean, organized and always have new things to look forward to.

Ma Shaa Allah!

Most of the time, I was staying at my brother’s home. I was making the most of my time playing with my so adorable nieces. We went for a weekend staycation in a hotel though near the airport. In case you will be coming here, Capri by Fraser hotel residences is a good place to stay for a weekend private bonding with your family. This hotel is near the airport but a little bit far from the famous tourist spots. Within the area is a mall which has halal foods and outlet shops for brands like Nike, Clarks and so on.

Third Week: Back to Philippines for a tour

The last week of my vacation was spent back in Philippines but out of the city. We travelled by land for 8 hours going to the North. It was almost ruined because of the typhoon but Alhamdulillah we were able to visit some places and the beach!

Notice the clouds, they are about to cry! Haha. I’m out of the sandbox! Yey! Unfortunately this photo doesn’t give justice to the real beauty of the beach. SubhanAllah!

They have this sand dunes experience but I was so scared to do it. (My 62-year old aunt did!) I just jumped in this truck to have this photo taken. Lol

A week ago, I came back here in the sandbox and I was welcomed with a 42 deg C temperature! Let me go back to the beeeeaaaccchh!! Lol.

Alhamdulillah for the safe travels and fun adventures with the family.

I am looking forward to another travel and top of my list now are Egypt, Turkey, Morocco and Jordan. In shaa Allah ❤️

 

 

11 thoughts on “Worth-it Travel with Fam

  1. Now I know why your blog is called My Sandbox Journey, actually made me laugh haha!

    #1 place I would loooooove to visit more than any other place is Saudi Arabia! Also, Morocco ❤

    If you come to Egypt please let me know!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jazakillahu Khair for reading. That’s all I can do, hop on the truck and take photo while it’s not moving HAHA. I’m too scared to do the exhilarating 4×4 ride going up the hill. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

